Samuel Kassow: Who Will Write Our History?

Standard

who-will-write-our-history

Trinity College History Professor Samuel Kassow discusses his recent work, Who Will Write Our History?: Rediscovering a Hidden Archive from the Warsaw Ghetto on C-SPAN 2’s “Book TV” program.

Click here to watch the video.

From the Book TV website:

Samuel Kassow recounts the efforts by Polish historian Emanuel Ringelblum and a group of amateur and professional historians, the Oyneg Shabes, who worked secretly from 1940 to 1943 to record Jewish suffering and subsequently hid thousands of records prior to the destruction of the Warsaw ghetto. This event was hosted by the Tenement Museum in New York City.

booktv-logo1

One response »

  1. When I was 8 years old, I joined a group of boys who used to harass an older man who lived down the street from us. One day, I noticed a numbered tattoo on his arm which meant nothing to me at the time. Later on, I happened to watch the “The World At War” TV series which ran on PBS. To my shame, it was then that I learned not only the meaning of the numbered tattoo but also what the word holocaust meant. Unlike my friends, I felt compelled to apologize to the old man for my behavior. We eventually became friends. Years later, while with the US Navy, I had the opportunity to visit the Holocaust museum near Tel Aviv, Israel where I saw the lampshades of skin with my own eyes. A growing number of youths in today’s generation seems to consider the Jewish holocaust as a ‘fairy tale’ and a ‘myth’. Books like these are very important. We must never forget the holocaust.

Leave a Reply

