Labor Day:Yet more Grillin’ (and more chillin’)

Standard

Today is Labor Day. Perhaps parodoxically, it is a day when Americans cease laboring and enjoy having the day off. Many of us use the free time to bbq and chill out with friends and family.

I grilled up a chicken, low and slow. My favorite way to cook a bird is to cleave it in two and cook it bone side down on the cool side of the grill to start. When it is about done, I flip it over to make sure it is cooked all the way through.

IMG_2083

[Flipped over bird]

I use mesquite or other hardwood charcoal as well as some soaked wood chips or chunks. This time it was hickory.wood

[Hickory chips]

I rub the chicken in kosher salt, fresh black pepper and paprika and let it marinade for a few hours. When it is just about finished cooking, I add the bbq sauce. A lot of people mess up by adding the sauce too soon and it burns (not good).

IMG_2088

Recipe for the bbq sauce? That’s my secret.

I cook vege chicken for my wife. We also had corn and some asparagus. Both of these are always lovely on the grill.

The local jazz station was playing a tribute to Lee Morgan while I was grillin’ so here is a track to chill out to.

3 responses »

  1. Thanks, Snoop. As far as the sauce, it all depends on what I am in the mood for. Sometimes I just give the chicken a dry rub or marinade it in some sort of tasty liquid. I never put bbq sauce on steak. Usually just salt and pepper although I like salsa with my tri-tip.

    But there is something about chicken with bbq sauce that takes me back to my childhood.

    Flesh, sorry for the photos of the carnage.

Leave a Reply

