9-11 Thoughts, Reflections and Rants

Standard

Not a lot to write about this September 11. I watched television this morning and listened to the thousands of names of the dead spoken by their relatives. Even eight years later, it’s always so sad to hear and sad to see the people with photos of their fathers, mothers, sons, daughters, brothers, and sisters.

I always find it strange when I visit my friends on the west coast how distant the events of that day are from their lives. It’s almost like we were never attacked. This is especially the case in the SF Bay Area. People seem to live in a perpetual mental fog in that part of the U.S.

In some case they are hyper-aware of what is happening (or what they think is happening) on the other side of the planet, but they have no clue what is happening in a neighboring community, let alone on the other side of their country.

Here is what some other folks are writing today:

Max Boot

Gallup

Sultan Knish

Ralph Peters

Rebecca Solnit

One response »

  1. “I always find it strange when I visit my friends on the west coast how distant the events of that day are from their lives. It’s almost like we were never attacked.”

    I see this too, and for the longest time, I think I felt the same way. When the events were happening, I remember being around a number of people who did not seem surprised or outraged by it at all. I think that it was for this reason, that they didn’t know anyone killed and didn’t experience the event firsthand, they did not (and don’t) think it warranted a response.

    It may be a cliché now, but that “pre-9/11” mindset is surely prevalent.

Leave a Reply

